So 3.5 weeks into training, where am I?

This is week 4 of my training with Runner’s High for running 10 kms in the Kaveri Trail Marathon.

The changes compared to Week 0 –

1. I feel less tired after the High Intensity Training days. Initially I used to come back and sleep after the long runs and Wednesday work outs. It was a natural body reaction. Wasn’t used to all that exercise, waking up early, really early and the post workout intake of food  would make me yearn for a bed and a blanket. After 3 weeks the need for sleep post exercise has reduced. I survived not sleeping for the whole day, both days over the past weekend. Yay! That is good because that means the body is getting used to and accepting higher levels of working out.

2. There are stretches where I can run without any effort. Yes! So I did a 5K this past weekend and in between there was a phase, almost midway, where I felt this surge of energy and my feet felt weightless and my breathing was rhythmic, effortless and my running easy! Maybe that is what runners feel like. I hope such surges and stretches increase 🙂

3. I have begun liking Wednesday workouts instead of fearing them. One reason being they are different and new every time. Novelty is important to me in all areas of my life 🙂 They still leave me tired, gasping for breath and feeling like David from David and Goliath but I have learnt to enjoy them in a way.

4. Waking up in the mornings – Hmm, well this is sort of tricky. I could get up early without problems since Day 1 but DO I want to? If given a choice, maybe not. I struggle more with it now as compared to week 1. Don’t know if it is because of the initial/beginner’s enthusiasm wearing off. I am still following instructions given at the introduction session.

For me running (as of now) is about breaking barriers and limitations I thought I had, about incorporating fitness into my lifestyle, about meeting people, observing people and doing something new! Running like any other life skill, is teaching me that it is important to FOCUS, to not compare yourself against others BUT yourself, to zone out everything and be in the moment, to enjoy what I am doing.

Looking forward to the next run day! Till the next time, Adios amigos!

Thanks for stopping by and being a part of my journey virtually 🙂

 

 

4 thoughts on “So 3.5 weeks into training, where am I?

  1. Keep reading your posts on email and chatting with you offline, but since I was awake, decide to come over and give you a BIG HUGS.. May the Force Be With You Sim!!! You can do it!

    • Thank you Archie!!! Hugs back at ya for all the support and love 🙂 I am loving doing this but more so because I can share everything with you guys.

What do you think? I would love to know.

