Dreading Wednesday!

The last week was my first with the Runner’s High group. And so it was my first weekend with them too. Saturdays are for long runs and Sundays for a run + strengthening exercises.

On Saturday my group was supposed to do a 3K easy run. Now when they say “easy” they do mean it and want you to run at a pace where you can breathe in a rhythm and talk easily. If you are panting, struggling to breathe or in pain then you are doing something wrong. I did that the initial few days when I started running on my own. I felt breathless after about 30 seconds of running. Eventually I did get to a pace where I could breathe in a rhythm and talk a bit while running. At this point of time I am not looking at pace, form, speed or time. All I am doing is trying to stick to the routine and breathe easy while running even if my pace is slow-er than anyone else around me. Slow and steady is the name of the game.

On Sunday I was supposed to do an easy 2K followed by stretches and strengthening exercises. We also did a gait analysis to determine what kind of shoes would I need. Turns out I do need to change my shoes (it’s been more than a year using my existing ones) and I need control shoes since I tend to overpronate. Too many terms you don’t understand? It’s okay. In simple terms my feet don’t fall straight on the ground with all parts touching the ground at the same time so I need to buy a shoe with arch support which will help prevent my foot from rolling in.

Off to shoe shopping soon πŸ™‚ *The shop-a-holic in me is overjoyed!!

The post run strengthening was great. Discovered some more muscles that I did not know existed. But working on them is supposed to help in the long run to improve running form so do it religiously we shall.

Now to the title of this post. Wednesday is the day when we do quality work-outs. And it is supposed to expand your lung capacity to more than what it is now. That will help you breathe better, train your heart to work better and improve your running capacity.

But how they train you for it is what is tiring and scary. Scary because I dread feeling breathless and tired. It is also a lesson in humility when you realize your actual capabilities. I thought I could do this, no problem. But turns out I can’t. It made me realize that nothing in life comes easy, you need to work hard, push yourself and struggle before you can feel the high of success. That is, if you want to be really good at something, achieve perfection and master a new skill. Skimming through the surface Β and taking it easy is what we all do most of the time or at least majority of the time. And no harm in doing that, it is perfectly fine to do what we like. I am a total believer in “Live Life your way, you get to do that only once and no rewinds possible!” But if you want to be good, you gotta work hard!

This post is not meant to scare you if you are planning to run soon. Just an eye opener that there is fun and easy moments, as well as tough ones. I don’t know for how long I will dread Wednesdays, but I will go to them all and work them out in the hope that I will be able to run better because of them.

Thanks for stopping by. Have a great week ahead!!

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Dreading Wednesday!

  1. wow Simz am finding these posts of yours very inspirational :).. Great going!
    And that bit about feeling breathless after 30 seconds? I thought that was just an indication of my fitness level and I was stuck with it for life!! Good to know I can change.. may start doing it in a small way to see if I can improve :).

  2. That’s really good Cc, many do that mistake which you haven’t committed! they run having in mind that no one around must think we are running too slowly and we can’t compete others and by thinking like this, eventually they end up and forgot the whole reason why they started it. I am really happy you opted and stick to what you need and I am happy that way! you are going to shopping eh πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ enjoy and have fun πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ hope you get the appropriate shoes πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • He he Swati, you have lots of hope πŸ™‚ I have never even run a kilometer without stopping and am attempting a 10K finish. But the Runner’s High registrations are closed for this session. The next time they will open in November again, you can register that time πŸ™‚ But you can start training on your own till then.

  3. Pingback: A myth shattered | ChipsnChutzpah

What do you think? I would love to know.

