The simple pleasures of life!

I got up today while the husband and the kid were still sleeping. Looked around the apartment and saw suitcases, big black trash bags holding stuff other than trash and a few heaps of laundry piled up. We are packing for a move, across countries, yet again.
It was quiet in the house. My tummy was rumbling. I walked out to grab a coffee and muffin from the tiny yet fully functional hole-in-the-wall coffee place just as I walk out of our building. I wonder if I will do that again some time soon. The coffee was heavenly and the day started on a good note. I had started one more round of laundry, folded the previous set, was done with my day’s social media catching up and had my breakfast. Ah the simple pleasures of life!

Last night I swore not to move again, no across cities, across countries moving. I want to settle down in one place and have a base. Packing for trips and holidays is just fine πŸ˜‰

But like I say and believe “Never say never”. I think I will be ok if I have to move again. This particular move has imparted its share of learnings though.

1. Prioritization – The move to and from New Zealand has resulted in a whole lot of prioritizing. It ranged from things like which clothes to carry, how many shoes, what accessories, which books to what to leave behind in storage, what to donate, what to discard, what needs to be sold, what needs to be done first and last! It has forced me to see what actually figures on the top of my list compared to what I thought would.

2. Emotional detachment – The above process also resulted in breaking those bonds of emotional attachment to that dress that you love but haven’t worn in a year or more! It also taught me that everybody has varying degrees of emotional attachment. I was cool and emotionally unperturbed about giving away or selling furniture from my Bangalore apartment but my mother and my mother-in-law were a little concerned and asked me if it really did not bother me parting with all that stuff! πŸ™‚

3. Sorting – My sorting abilities have definitely improved. When one does the exercise of keep, throw, donate for every material thing that they own, twice in 8 months it is bound to do some good in the related part of the brain. I guess! I wish I could do that for my emotional clutter too. Keep the happy memories and throw the sad ones.

4. De clutter and donate – S and I were discussing that we have cleaned out closets and donated stuff more than ever in our life time. If not for this move we would still have a lot of random junk that we did not use, wear or like! A lot of cleansing up and feel-good has happened. Of course the cleaner, less crowded closet shelves have prompted a few shopping sprees also. But I am also doing what I learnt from my mil, “When you buy 1 of something new, give away 2 of something old.” Try that, eh?

Life is nice. It is not all smooth, perfect and happy always but it is nice. I could ask for a li’l bit of this and that. But while I sip my mocha, looking out at some lovely downtown landscape through ceiling to floor glass windows it seems just fine in the big picture!

15 thoughts on “The simple pleasures of life!

  1. Hi Di! I love your posts …always read them first thing in morning Somehow it inspires me! Where are you traveling to ?

  2. Simran..can totally relate to whatever you have written πŸ™‚ We have moved 6 times in the last 5 years….spans 3 countries and 5 cities..on moving to sobha we thought this is it:) we are going to be here for good LOL but like you said “never say never” so we moved and this time looks like we will be here for quite some time now…Its exciting too..isnt it??and you know this is the best time when your kids are still small…they adjust pretty fast πŸ™‚ All the best for your move, are you moving back to Bangalore ?

  3. Love your positive attitude and your zest for life πŸ™‚ Every new town, city, country teaches you a lot – mostly I suppose about accepting the differences. Cant wait to have you back in bangalore – and we should do the hot stone massage together ;))

    • Yay! Yes Poorni, that hot stone massage has been evading us for long now. We totally have to do it!! Looking fwd to being back in B’lore and spend time with my gfs :)) See you soon!

    • I am looking forward to meet all the lovely people in the Marathon Bloggers group Swati!! So excited about that. Once I am there let’s plan a get together πŸ™‚

  4. I have moved home 3 times so far but across 8 years and that has been an experience in itself for me… so I can totally imagine how you feel… All the best with the move!

  5. I admire the fauji kids because of this very ability – to up and move at any given point – to make new friends and leave old ones behind for the time being – to not get attached. Welcome to Bangalore, Simran. Lucky Bangalore!

What do you think? I would love to know.

