Day 24 – What’s with some parents and candy overload?

Overheard at the airport, one lady to another, “My son always wants candy after school, after dinner. If I don’t give it to him, he makes such a big scene. I keep it ready with me at all times.” She went on to rant about how she just couldn’t get her child to get rid of this habit. How he was getting too much sugar. How he wouldn’t listen to her when she refused and would start rolling on the floor.

I wanted to ask her “Who is the parent here?”, “Why do YOU give the candy?”, “What will happen if you don’t?” [Believe me the world does not come crashing down]. And mostly (except a few extreme cases) the shouting, crying, yelling, kicking aka throwing a tantrum stops after a while. Kids need all the love in the world but sometimes they also need to know that you will enforce some rules and stick to them. They will test limits, that is what they are meant to do, that is how they learn. YOU need to be the grown up. Decide what you want to do and then don’t crib about it. Period.

I know my social boundaries and in general, I do not give out unsolicited advice, so I kept quiet ๐Ÿ™‚

But I seriously don’t understand why parents would give so much candy – especially when the kid is getting loud, noisy, whiny and rude! I would think that’s the time NOT to give them something they like rather than reward them with treats.

I know of people with kids who keep candy/sweets/treats in their bags and whip them out when they sense troubled times ahead. Candy is used as a pacifier or mellow-down-tool or a bribe. I never get that concept. Why would you want to do that? Why wouldn’t you use that opportunity to let the kid learn, “listen” to what the kid really WANTS not what he/she is yelling for?ย What this results in, is a sugar high kid, becoming hyperactive by the minute and more defiant than earlier.

So stop the excuses lady, make a choice and stick to it!!

This post is part of the Marathon Blogging December 2012.ย 

9 thoughts on “Day 24 – What’s with some parents and candy overload?

  1. Even I don’t understand this..I know of people who buy just about anything to pacify the kid and then complain that the kid is stubborn..now who is to blame??

    • It’s tough being a parent and holding your ground at times but then it is tougher when the child you have raised becomes a screaming stubborn brat! I guess we all need to learn to make our choices and live with them ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. May be thats the easiest way put to get rid of the child’s tantrums. But certainly so much sugar going into the kid is alarming.

    • It is P! The way is easy but the results are horrifying at times. But then it is also a matter of personal preference and tolerance. Some people are ok with it and others are not.

  3. OMG Simran, you have put down exactly what was on my mind. Not just about candy overload, but about excusing or ignoring bad behaviour in general!! It gets on my nerves and leaves me wondering if I’m being too hard on my kids after all ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • I know! This actually spreads out to other areas of child raising! I sometimes wonder if I am being too hard too but I have seen the results of what we teach our kids and what we don’t and I think we are doing what’s right for us and our child! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I agree with every word you say here. It is the parent’s responsibility to see that the child is well within their limits of behaviour. And if the parent doesn’t like to give candy, don’t give. The child throws a tantrum, leave them there..and walk away. It works. They cry for a while and then realise the parent means what they say and behave. Its in the parents hands and no point whining if one has faltered there

What do you think? I would love to know.

