Day 20 – Time for some revision

I read this post on Parentous day before, and saw this workshop video again.

I decided it was time to revise some body basics with N. I first talked to him about sexual abuse when he was 3. Maybe a little early. But I kept it simple and explained to him that the parts covered by his swimming shorts were private and no one except mommy and daddy are allowed to touch him there. If anyone does, he should tell us. I felt that much was enough for that age.

The last we talked about this was when he turned 4. This time I added some more steps –ย These are your private body parts. We don’t touch them in public. We don’t let anyone else touch our private parts.ย If someone touches us there (it could be anybody) we shout out “NO”, run away from there and come tell mommy or daddy. And we don’t touch anyone else’s private parts.

I will show him this video today. And revise again in about 6 months. Meanwhile, I will stay alert and ensure that my child is aware. He should know he can do some thing about it and he has someone to talk to.

This is not something that happens only to others. This is real. It is not something we can should ignore. It is not something to be brushed under the carpet. It can happen at home, at school, in any city, any country. Talk to your child if you haven’t already. Empower them!!

This post is part of the Marathon Blogging December 2012.

14 thoughts on “Day 20 – Time for some revision

  1. I have been telling my cousins who have little kids the importance of explaining to them “good touch and bad touch”. ‘kutti r’ is too small but he knows that touching there is a big Noooooooooo. Thanks Simran! I am going to bookmark this page. I will need it to remind myself to teach kutti “r”

  2. I have been telling and repeating this to my daughter since she turned 2(She is 5 now). Its the most important thing to be told to the kids. They might not understand it right away but believe me they get it more than we think.
    Thanks for sharing the video. I did the exercise with my daughter when i saw this episode on SJ.

  3. This is a good reminder to all of us Simran, thanks for sharing! My post today was also running on similar lines, I guess parents all over India will be having this on their minds.

    • Every time such a case comes up, it scares the hell out of me and my thought goes to N. Let’s do what we can and educate our kids! Will hop over today to read pending posts.

What do you think? I would love to know.

