Day 13 – State of limbo

S and I have been living in this constant state of limbo. This particular overseas assignment has been on unstable grounds since Day 1. I mean it was supposed to be a long-term thingy, say for a year or 2. That’s what we had in mind when we said yes to this offer. But things changed faster than we had imagined and by the time we landed here it was already clear that this was not going to be a smooth ride. Lots of reasons for that – new market, client not too sure about what they want, budget cuts in their orgs etc. So every few weeks we go through this phase where we don’t know how much longer we will stay here – few months, few weeks, few days? And this is not something new for the IT sector. Most of us who have worked in this area are familiar with this scenario. But when it actually happens the practicalities can be very confusing, irritating and can create chaos in your orderly world!

I was fed up with the constant confusion and I joked about it on a couple of occasions saying, I do not know whether to buy 6 onions or 10 at the farmer’s market this Sunday. The same holds true for toilet paper and dishwasher detergent shopping!

Cut to a meeting where S, his boss, his boss’ boss and a couple of other people were discussing different options. At the end of the meeting it was decided that S will stay here no matter what, coz they need his expertise for blah blah blah. Everyone said their byes and have-a-good-days and then some senior boss guy says “S now you can go and buy 2 dozen onions!!”

I am sure the laughter that followed could be heard 2 floors down. And they say men don’t gossip!! *Roll my eyes*

We are back in that state again and do not know what’s going to happen next. Things are in discussion stage. I am okay. I think. Not too happy not too sad, just hanging in there. This has been a lovely experience in many many ways. A lot of my to-do’s from my list of things to do before I die (yes I have one of those and will share it some day) were checked off here.

My brain has already started processing the moving-scenario. If we have to go then I will need to pack 2 different ways – one for the 2 week holiday coming up and another for the move across countries after that. I will have to sort stuff into donate, throw, take along. I will have to clean up the apartment. Aaarrghh!! Just what I did not need before a HOLIDAY 😦

All this when the girls at my regular coffee haunt knew exactly how I have my coffee without me spelling it out 🙂 That, I believe takes true dedication (from both sides) and excellent customer service. Sigh!

This post is part of the Marathon Blogging December 2012. 

18 thoughts on “Day 13 – State of limbo

  1. Awww!!! I understand these confusions and the constant state of unknown. But i’m positive that every move will bring to you memories to hold on for the next. Take care..

  2. aww..I understand..but the good thing is you had a good time while it lasted or rather will have a good time until this lasts..a stint abroad is a great teacher in many ways and that’s one my list in my bucket list..my post for today..
    whenever that happens 🙂 If you are back in India, will it be Bangalore??? would love to meet you…

    • Yes Uma, I have had a great time here. Loved every moment of it!! will blog about that some day.
      When we get back, it will be to Bangalore eventually but after a few pit stops…. in Delhi and Chandigarh. Will definitely meet you once I am there!!

  3. From the other side of the fence, it seems to be a lovely life. I’d love to be moving countries, and I thrive in a state of flux. Struck me – you’re married to an S and have a son called N too 😛

    • It is actually Jane! I have loved every city, every country I have been to and loved the travelling bit too, even the 16 hr non stop flight with a 2.5 yr old. But yes sometimes this uncertainty gets to me, like this time. I just want to know how long we are going to be here for… or not!
      Same pinch on the S and N!!

  4. I read it on my friends status update and you will be the best person to embrace this ““Cities were always like people, showing their varying personalities to the traveler. Depending on the city and on the traveler, there might begin a mutual love, or dislike, friendship, or enmity. Where one city will rise a certain individual to glory, it will destroy another who is not suited to its personality. Only through travel can we know where we belong or not, where we are loved and where we are rejected.”
    ― Roman Payne, Cities & Countries

  5. Wow Simran, that is quite a task to handle!! I am so scared of looking in my cupboards and trying to dispose stuff that I refuse to move anywhere ;). And I also have to ask if you’re moving back to Bangalore 🙂 ?

  6. hmmm … i have seen it with so many frens.. i guess i iam that grass is always greener on d other side, i so want to move countries… i am yet to visit so many continents.. but common sims.. i so love to see u happy and all.. give me that smile.. and just concentrate on the HOLIDAY! 😉

What do you think? I would love to know.

