Day 12 – Shopaholic malfunction!

I headed out of the house armed with a 10 point shopping list.

I got back home with a pack of disposable razors and chewing gum.

After about 5 hours of walking around, browsing and talking to myself. SERIOUSLY???

What had happened to the shopaholic in me? I was a good shopper, the perfect one, every retailer’s dream come true!

I used to make huge lists, scan through things in all the aisles and shortlist them, check reviews, try clothes out, buy mix-n-match accessories, throw in that gimmicky, shiny stuff from the check out aisles at the last-minute thus making every store layout designer’s prophecy come true!

What happened to me today?

Every store, I walked into, was overwhelming. There were too many choices, too many distractions.

I found what was on my list but it had so many variations, so many colours, so many sizes.

I stopped after 4 stores. I thought maybe food would help.

I went into a cafe and looked at the menu. I went blank again. The server came and asked me if I was ready to order. I looked up Β and smiled. She said she would be back in a few minutes. I stared at the menu for a full 5 minutes, maybe 6. I couldn’t decide what to eat.

It is a simple thing right, choosing what to eat? But it wasn’t. I could feel tears welling up. WTH. I walked out of the cafe and came back home.

Browsing and blogging felt safer!

I guess it was my hormones playing a trick or a my brain’s shopping circuitry got rewired or maybe a severe case of mommy brains as Rohini mentions!

PS – This post is part of the Marathon BloggingΒ December 2012

PPS – This is my 100th post on this blog! Yay!!

26 thoughts on “Day 12 – Shopaholic malfunction!

  1. First things first!
    Yayyyy!!!!!!!!!!!! 100th post….
    You are a BLOGGER and unofficially throned the Blog-Love thread queen of the marathon bloggers πŸ˜‰
    It’s funny you should write about your shopping experience. I had a very similar one yesterday when I stopped by a mall to buy a snack box, a water bottle and a cute bag for my 2 year old.
    I didnt know which store to run in to. (I usually read reviews and ask fellow mommies on FB)
    I dint know which store to ask for.
    I got out of the mall….Went to Star bazaar and randomly picked a few.
    No. I am not happy. But again. Choices…
    It was difficult. I needed something for him today…

    • πŸ˜€ Thanks Swathika!! I graciously accept the crown and shall continue to post first-posts religiously I hope!! πŸ™‚ This shopping black out thing is age related I think. As we get older and into the post kid stage this creeps up on us!! I hope that doesn’t happen to me again!!

  2. yayy to the century πŸ™‚ I feel that vacuum sometimes as well. My mind just does not want to co operate with me. It is annoying and disturbing. Dont worry you have company.

  3. Happy 100th post! I’ve faced that problem as well…but not with shopping. Mostly its been when I have a long to-do lisg and after several hours of activity, I find that the result has been miniscule!

    • Thanks Aparna! I have realized I work better under pressure and time constraints which results in leaving things out of long lists for the last moment 😐 Not very ideal but it works!!

  4. Congratulations on the 100th post Simran πŸ™‚ I’ve been going through a lull shopping period too and all this when by 25th birthday is just around the corner.

    • Thanks Jane! I think I feel much better today and I shall venture out on Friday again. After all the initial survey I think I am better prepared now and will be less fazed out πŸ™‚

  5. congratulations on the 100th, Simran! the shopping gene malfunctioning? has happened to me too…I used to hoard dresses before marriage..it gradually came down over years and after R, the shopping is always rushed, so this often happens to me…There have been times I’ve refused to buy a dress!!! I can’t believe it me, at times :-0

    • Thanks Uma!! I know!! In fact I shop more for N now than myself. And I do not take the husband or kid along to shop. It just doesn’t happen for me then. So they stay out of my way πŸ™‚

  6. YAYYY to the 100th post. May be NOW you can go out and shop and celebrate πŸ™‚ May be thats why you could not decide yesterday…May be that was a sign that you must shop and party today to celebrate the 100th post πŸ™‚

  7. Congrats Simran for the 100th blog post. I confess – that I may not have read all 100 but whenever I did its always a great read. Some funny, some serious and some like this one- honest confession! Keep them coming my friend πŸ™‚

  8. Wow that’s great to hear Simran – Congratulations!! And I shall win the shopping malfunction challenge – what if you make a long list and then forget to take it πŸ˜› !!

What do you think? I would love to know.

