Day 5 – Damn this is tough!

I admit writing for Day 5 of this Marathon Blogging eventย took some effort.

I have begun struggling just a teeny-weeny bit with what to write. Today was almost going to be a filler post rather than something I felt strongly/passionately enough to write about. Not that fillers are an issue, no no, not at all! Fillers are just perfect for those rainy days in a blogathon and I shall resort to using some in the next few days maybe ๐Ÿ˜‰

But just when I was about to give up hope of an inspiration popping up, something happened. Something that was a trigger for the outpour that follows next.

My dad’s-brother’s-wife’s-sister’s-sister-in-law’s-brother’s-son joined FB. Wait, that is not the issue. He sent me a friend request!!! I cringed at that message. I shrank back from the laptop. NO! I did not want him as a friend on FB.

Family and extended family have this really creepy thing they do when they are in your FB/social media circle. As if they don’t do it enough in real life. They stalk you, check out everything that you do, say, eat and wear, then gossip, shell out unsolicited advice as if they are entitled to itย and go tell your parents or in-laws too!

“Oh we did see pictures of Pinky and that handsome guy skinny dipping in the Dead Sea. Is she dating him Meena? Tell us na.”

“Mom, Rita chachi is wearing the same saree that she wore for Nikhil’s sangeet at Pooja’s wedding. Why couldn’t she wear something different?”

“Looks like Ashok and Anjali are having a cold war these days. Look at their expressions and body language in that picture. I think I am going to call Anjali’s ย sister Tina and ask her if she knows anything.”

“Priya bhabhi seems to have gained some weight. Maybe she is pregnant. Or wait maybe she is depressed and over eating because Raj bhaiya ย seems to be away from home most of the time from his pictures.”

“Maddy’s status says single again. Did she break up again? Oh god, this girl just can’t settle down, can she? Her poor darling mom, she must be going through hell.”

Give it a break people!! Spare your family. In the virtual world at least.

I chose “Not now” on the new friend request and signed out. Nothing better than shoving such things under the bed, till they stare you in the face :p

 

P.S. – This is a totally fictional narrative people! I have a loving, warm, supportive and non-interfering family on FB and off it as well ๐Ÿ˜‰ Love you family folks and this is not about any of you, I swear!! xoxoxo

24 thoughts on “Day 5 – Damn this is tough!

  1. We always have a few school mates, college mates, colleagues, family whom we dont want to be friends with I guess. I loved the dialogues between all your fictional characters :)) You should write a book!!!

  2. hehe…I know I get requests from so many unknown people who are friends with friends of friends I know :-0
    Best is to ignore and move on…;-)

  3. As a principle I do not add family on my FB and people from work are always kept on a restricted list. There are things I wouldn’t want my family to know until I think they should, also since I am away from them..my posts will wreck nothing less than a havoc. Recently I had my sister’s son (he’s in 12th std) sending me a request, I promptly spoke to him and told him how we should give each other our space and let ourselves be atleast in the virtual world. Phew! Didn’t want to give the poor guy a shocker with my relationship and party updates. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • LOL, seriously those cute little kiddos become all social media addicts and want you on their list for whatever reason. Thank you please, I don’t want your moms and dads freaking out!!

    • That’s why at the next family gathering I shall smile and say hello and pretend that the FB friend request did not happen (if all this was real, I mean) ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. You hit a sore point there all right, Simran! I’ve got so many pending friend requests, and I don’t know whether I’ll annoy them more by keeping them pending or by allowing them to see what I’m really upto on FB

  5. This one just cracked me up Simran :). Many of us can relate to it I guess.. sometimes I forget my dad is on FB, and then he’ll ask me about something I posted ๐Ÿ˜›

    • ๐Ÿ˜€ Many times before I put up a picture I think about what reactions will be from different groups and then I chose the restrictions accordingly!!

  6. guess each one of us relates to it, good you ha a disclaimer its all fictional doesn’t intend to portray anybody living or dead.. just this weekend a distant relative of mine tells me in a party among 20 others.. i tell my mom swati doesnt work i guess all she does is bake and cook and claim to win weird competitions … and goes hahahaaa… ๐Ÿ˜€ and i really didn’t know what to say ๐Ÿ™‚

What do you think? I would love to know.

