What are we reading these days?

N is reading or rather being read to “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” by Roald Dahl. It is one of my ALL TIME favourites! I love seeing the movie too, and it is one movie I could watch over and over again (Normally, I cannot watch re runs, just can’t).

So I was walking back home after dropping N off to pre school the other day and I passed by this local book store chain called Whitcoullsย (a la Barnes & Noble in the USA). They have their annual sale going on and on the display section, was this book – ON SALE – NZ $5 instead of the regular $20! The book-lover and sale-lover in me stared with eyes wide open!! I grabbed it lest someone else picked that copy up. Ya ya I was being paranoid, but for Charlie and Willy Wonka its ok to behave like that, right?? I know some of you are nodding your heads ๐Ÿ™‚

N is also loving the book. We read a few pages or chapters every night. I love the characters, the simple yet detailed descriptions and language, the fun and quirkiness!!

The love of readingย is one thing I would like to pass on to my child (err excuse me Mr Gibran this doesn’t mean I “seek to make him like me“). I have read to him from the day I brought him home from the hospital and even before that. And he does love books now and enjoys our routine of reading a book every night.

I believe books open newer worlds for us, help expand one’s horizon and make a person a better human being in the grand scheme of life!ย Which brings me to what I am reading these days? I am ontoย The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams. Its one of the quirkiest books ever and something that I had been putting off for a long time (still don’t know why!). And I think it is going to be one of those books which grow on you and then stay there forever! A classic in its own sense and genre. I am halfway through 2nd part – The Restaurant at the End of the Universe and am loving it ๐Ÿ™‚

There are so many books I want to read – to myself and to N! The next one being – Andre Agassi’s autobiography “Open” (have always loved the guy) and then I shall pick something from the Whitcoulls Top 100 books!!!

For N, I would like to start some books that he can self read. He can identify the alphabets and he reads them out from sign boards, newspapers, books etc. But is yet to group them into words like c, a, t makes cat! So I would like to get him some easy to read, self read, big letters books which he can start reading himself. I think some scrabble or phonetics also might help in spelling words. Any thoughts/suggestions/book recommendations for him? He will turn 4 in October!

Have a great week!! ๐Ÿ™‚

7 thoughts on “What are we reading these days?

  1. P was reading everything he saw that had words on it – the brand name etched on hinges, on the washing machine. He even read the WC manufacturer details while he peed – that’s when we started with Tulika’s Thumb Thumb series – ideal in terms of no. of pages and words/page, since he found the prospect of reading an entire book daunting at first. Soon enough he moved onto other Tulika titles like Pranav’s picture, Gadagada gudugudu, Thakkitta tharikitta… Also, their bilinguals usually are low on word count and easy to read. Some of the Dr. Seuss ones like The Foot Book, Hop on Pop are great for beginner readers. Then there is the Biscuit series by Alyssa Satin Capucilli – all ‘I Can Read’ / Easy Reading Books. Have fun!

    • Lol that’s cute. We miss P!! Just y’day N was pretend playing with an imaginary P!
      N does that too, almost everything has to be read and pointed out to mommy or daddy whoever is around! ๐Ÿ™‚ I had to leave all N’s books including the Tulika series back home coz no space to pack and bring them along ๐Ÿ˜ฆ So for now will look for books with few words and big text from the local library I guess. And help him along. But in a way thats good, he can read more books and new ones every time we go to the library or get some from there! Thanks for the suggestions Arundhati, I will look out for these books! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. So true Simran !! books are a great companion ๐Ÿ™‚ yesterday i made my routine visit to the public library and got a bagfull of em ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. As always, love to read about what my friends are reading!

    Dr Seuss, yes, highly recommended. Bubbles, too. Ladybird books. Some of the Dick King Smith books. Julia Donaldson. Jane Yolen. Try all sorts of picture books. You will be able to get a wide selection at your local library.

    • Hey Sandhya! I think Dr Seuss is coming out a clear winner to help with self reading ๐Ÿ™‚ Will def try that and the other suggestions too! The library here has a huge collection for kids and so am sure we’ll have a nice time reading new books! Thanks!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Pingback: Roald Dahl Audio Books | All On Audio Books

What do you think? I would love to know.

