End of week 3!

Its been 3 weeks here in Wellington and we finally have some sort of routine in our lives!

We finalized a pre-school for N (school starts in NZ at 5, that would be equivalent to Std 1 in India) and this week was settling-in-week at school. Days 1 and 2 went well. But on Day 3, when he was left for a little longer than the last 2 days, he did end up missing mommy and burst into tears when I went to pick him up. But then that was expected. S and I are ready for some more water works and “I-don’t-want-to-go-to-school” statements. Next week is going to be tough!

I take the bus for dropping off and picking up which makes it fun and a lot easier than walking 25 mins with a pre-schooler! Though sometimes on the way back after dropping him I walk back and do my window shopping and shopping ;).Β N loves to look and read out all the bus numbers on the way. He now knows which bus numbers we need to take to get back home.

Another big achievement was getting N to sleep on his own, in his own bed and on a reasonable time. After all the moving, jet lag and weird temporary sleeping arrangements, he is finally doing all. Well actually, a bit of sleeping on his own, most of sleeping in his bed and sleeping at a decent time! πŸ™‚ But we are hopeful we shall be there soon. Fingers crossed, patience and routine is the key!

S’s office is close by (a 5 min walk) so he does drop in for lunch sometimes, which is nice and sometimes way better than having lunch alone.

We need to move into a 2 bedroom apartment in the next 2 weeks so the hunt for the “ideal” apartment is on. By ideal, I mean close to N’s school, close enough to not need a bus and walk down. It should also not be too far away from S’s office. So that is one big task.

I have finally started running. Yay! It is actually the initial 30 day training to get my body used to running. So it is not a full 30 min run but a 10 min walk (which counts as warm up), followed by 15 mins of running for 30 secs and then walking till I am ready to run for 30 secs again, followed by 5 mins of walking. It feels great to be doing some physical activity. I need to pick up some good running shoes and clothes though – suitable for the weather here. So that’s a to-do on my list too!

But life seems so much better with everyone having a routine and me getting some time for myself. I am loving exploring Windy Welly. Lets hope it just gets better from here on πŸ™‚ Happy Weekend!!

6 thoughts on “End of week 3!

  1. Heya thats grt !! 3 weeks and u already sound so much in place πŸ™‚ for me its been nmore than 3 months nd still struggling πŸ™‚ anyways ur post always inspires … now m all the more eager ..

    • Thanks for the kind words Amrita! Just when we think we are all settled, life throws a curve ball. Give things a lil time and they will fall in place. Hope my posts keep inspiring you πŸ™‚ Take care!

  2. Hey Simran…I have been away from blogging for quite a bit now. And when I finally returned this month, I was shocked to hear you moved out of India already? Wow! Well…am sure it must be exciting being in a new place and all that. Enjoy maadi πŸ™‚

    • Hey Divs, yes things happened too quick for even us to react! Feels as if I blinked my eyes and I was here in Wellington. It is fun and exciting to be in a new place and discover it πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Brandi! Trying to settle is the key word. Still looking for a “house” to move in and settle down. And might look for something fully furnished this time rather than unfurnished so I might not have the liberty to decorate πŸ™‚

What do you think? I would love to know.

